My favorite February date

IMG_0860

When I was a kid my dad would take me to the beach on random days. A Saturday afternoon, a day after school, or in between errands. It didn’t happen that often, but when it did I always wondered why are we here? How long are we gonna stay? Where are we going next? What was he thinking of? We would sit and stare at the waves. We never talked until it was time to go, but I never complained. I didn’t have a reason to.

Today of all days I wish I was home with my dad to sit, stare at the waves, and celebrate his birthday. I drove to Huntington Beach hoping it would provide some kind of fulfillment, but I left with cold sand between my toes and a free bumper sticker that says, “One Love.” Although this scene could never compare to home, the blessed feeling of receiving another day to live is the same.

Happy birthday, dad. You continue to teach me how it is more than okay to love with a big heart no matter what other people say.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

