F.R.I.E.N.D.S


Michelle never gave up on me. Not once. Not even when I gave her every reason to.
She calls me up randomly just because,
Validates my love for sweatpants and my struggle to put on real ones when I have to,
Accepts my relationship with my Kindle and love for Harry Potter,
Reminds me that I matter,
Judges me and judges with me,
Has my bed (the big red couch) ready with the fluffy blanket when I sleep over,
Buys a chocolate peanut butter cupcake as a back up just in case I don’t like the breakfast cupcake with bacon and maple drizzle,
Supports my craving for tacos after a night of dancing,
And doesn’t react anymore when I snort while laughing.

One day she sat me down and completely shattered my glass walls of isolation and denial. A series of stress factors, insecurities, emotions, and hopelessness flooded out and it felt like there was nothing I can do to stop it. I felt uncomfortable sitting there across from her sharing everything that weighed heavily on my heart. I wanted to run away from that moment wishing it would go away on its own, but I was too deep in it to cut it short. She stayed, listened, cried with me, and hugged me and said, “Don’t you ever feel like you’re not loved ever again.”

It’s been almost a year since that day and to say that our friendship is stronger than ever is an understatement. I believe in the power of vulnerability. The power to create connections, build relationships, and develop spiritually.  There’s no formula to it. I haven’t mastered it, but I have people on my side to help me along the way. Michelle is definitely one of my people and I am very thankful for her. I don’t think the world was ready when they placed us in each other’s lives though because our friendship goals are on point. 

People say we look like sisters.

“…Recognizing and leaning into the discomfort of vulnerability teaches us how to live with joy, gratitude, and grace.” -Brenè Brown

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

