Stained-glass Windows


We serve in a lot of roles in life. I’m a daughter, sister, aunt, friend, colleague, mentor, and a college graduate. I’ve also been a classmate, dance instructor, president of the Asian Student Association, a social work intern, and a member for the colourguard team in high school. I may or may not have gently tapped a car or two with my flag during the Christmas parade. The experiences I had in these roles contributed to the person I am today to some extent. 

I think I allowed some not-so-good experiences define who I am. Someone described it as linking my value to _______. Fill in the blank: work, what others thought of me, relationships. You name it. In this time of transition a friend helped me think about what I would create on a blank slate if I removed myself from all these different roles. How would I describe myself if I defined my value without any links to this world? What kind of colors would best illustrate my soul?

I don’t have all the answers. I wish I did, but I at least know one thing. Throughout this season I can’t help but feel God’s love and presence. This foreign feeling of His peace reminds me that I am taken care of and that He has my best interest at heart. So with or without these different roles I serve, I can confidently describe myself as a person with strong faith. 

What roles do you serve? Do you believe it helped you become who you are today? Some might say yes.  Some might say no. Some might say to a certain extent. And that’s okay. It’s your narrative. Your truth. 

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.” -Elizabeth Kübler-Ross

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

