Play Time 

Back in the day 1993
I gave my Barbie a bob hair cut once. I don’t remember if I thought it would grow back or if I thought she needed a new look. I had a Barbie bedroom set, a closet with outfits and mismatched shoes, a dining table, and a Barbie van, which was my favorite one to set up. It came with a lot of camping gear down to the mini utensils. I remember setting up every little piece of toy in its place before I started to actually play. However, by the time I was done organizing my toys, I was too tired to play and took a nap instead.

Most people live by the work hard play hard mentality and I think my friends would agree that I need to, not just play hard, but to play in general. I took work home, which isn’t always a bad thing, but it got to the point where I felt restless. I felt like I wasn’t doing enough and when I overworked myself I was too tired or physically sick to play. I lived a work hard then play after the work is done kind of life. In reality the work will never end. When one task is done another one is already halfway through the process. Took me a while to integrate play into my life, but I’m getting better. It’s made of self-compassion, reflection, calmness, stillness, and spirituality. It also includes books, blogs, laughter, family dinners, and facial masks that make you look like the Jabbawockeez. My nieces help remind me to play as well even though they wake me up earlier than I wish.

Play helps us deal with difficulties, provides a sense of expansiveness, promotes mastery of our craft, and is an essential part of the creative process. -Dr. Stuart Brown

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

