Orcas

A week ago they gave us two-inch binders filled with schedules, content, and assignments. We were placed in a small group with instructions to
work together,
share best practices,
and learn about the profession.
That’s how our week started.
Uncertainty of what’s to come or how to even get started.
We sat silently on the patio eating dinner with the sunset, humidity, and the San Diego view. I think my sweat revealed more of my awkward energy than anything else. The first words I said to my small group was, “I promise I’ll be more social after I eat. I’m just so hungry y’all.”
No joke.
No shame.
Just my appetite and constant regret of portion control, especially when there was so much food left over.
That’s how our week started. However, our week ended with more than what I expected it to be. Getting our presentations done was only the bare minimum.
We not only worked together, we laughed together.
We shared best practices like every professional development opportunity, but we also shared encouragement for our futures.
We learned about the profession and learned even more about each other’s stories.

I get to make a difference in the world and do good work with these beautiful souls by my side. That holds more value than any price tag. This is why I do what I do.

To my small group,
you will forever be the ferocious, fighting orcas in my heart.
(Cue whale wave) – Mendoza

College Board Summer Admissions Institute 2017

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

